A Test of Faith

The journey of Faith based on Abraham’s life experience. Recently I was talking to my friend and he reminded me that Abraham’s faith grew with time. It is usually imperative that we always have the context of every story. Most of us see the Abraham of Genesis 22 where he is giving his son but we miss to study his full journey. Like you and I we’ll find that Abraham had it rough, many times his faith was weak but with time he grew to trust the Lord fully.

Incase you are experiencing a downfall in faith, this series will speak to you. We will take a closer look at the journey of Abraham and his son Isaac and then do a practical self examination for ourselves today. We’ll draw principles that we can apply to our situations. The basis of our study is taken from Genesis 15-22.

The promise of a son: (Genesis 15:1-4)

After theses things the word of the Lord came to Abram in a vision saying, “Do not be afraid , Abram. I am your shield , your own exceedingly great reward. But Abram said Lord God what will you given e seeing I go childless, and the heir of my house is Eliezer of Damascus? Then Abram said ,:Look you have given me no offspring; indeed the born in my house is my heir. And behold the word of the Lord came to home, saying, “ This one shall not be your heir but one who will come form your own body.”

Abram asked God for a son of his own. Notice his conversation with God as a friend. He opens his heart to him and lets him know what is on his mind and God responds to him. As we proceed we will come to learn that it was not an easy journey down the road.

The Tested faith: (Genesis 16)

The promise was made in Genesis 15 but Genesis Abram’s faith is tested.

Now Sarai, Abram’s wife had borne him no children and she had an Egyptian maidservant whose name was Hagar. So Sarai said to Abram, “ See now, the Lord has restrained me from bearing children. Please, go into my maid; perhaps I shall obtain a children by her.” And Abram heeded to the voice of God. Genesis 16:1-2

a delay was permitted, to test his faith in the power of God:

As time went by Sarah’s faith was tested and so was that of Abram and they opted to assist God in making fulfillment of his promise.

Faith is proved over the length of time. The longer we wait the harder it seems for one to hold on their faith.

Abram’s faith here proves to weak and feeble. When God promises us something, we should expect some challenges along the way.

Lack of Faith Justifies sin:

Then Sarai, Abram’s wife, took Hagar her maid, the Egyptian and gave her to her husband Abram to be his wife, after Abram had dwelt ten years in the land of Canaan. Genesis 16:3

Abram’s lack of faith led to sinning. He embraced Polygamy. Lack of Faith will always lead to sinning.

Abram settled for Polygamy which was widely spread that it had ceased to be considered as sin.

In today’s time some sins have become acceptable in the society that it is no longer considered as sin in the eyes of men. This evidence of lack of Faith.

Bribery—

I recently went to Africa for mission and I was troubled to see the rate of corruption. Bribing has become a norm in the continent that even church members have accepted it.

My travel document was lost and I met with a guy who was a church elder, unbenounced to me, he asked me to pay 13000Ksh~$180 as a bribe plus the process fee before I could get my passport replaced. As if that was nothing, he then invited me to his church to do a seminar the following Sabbath afternoon.

It was disturbing that he wanted me to bribe him first and yet he also invited me to his church. I refused to bribe but it was all in vain as another church member offered to pay the bribe for me. It pained me to see church leaders engage in such activity with no sense of guilt at all.

Bribing is no longer considered sinful, it is a way of life. In other words, we don’t trust God will come through if we don’t do this. Lack of Faith!

 Marriage for wrong reason:

Reasons such as:

  • The biological clock
  • Immigration

These and many more reasons for young and old getting married. Where is faith of Moses, David, Daniel and the Friends where is the Faith of Hebrews 11? Do we still believe that the Lord can get us a husband or a wife. Do we still have faith that He can grant us permission to live anywhere in the world.

Polygamy had become so widespread that it ceased to be regarded as a sin but it was no less of a violation of the law of God {Patriarchs and Prophets pg. 145}

Lack of faith leads to consequences

So he went into Hagar, and she conceived. And when she was that she had conceived, her mistress became despised in her eyes. Then Sarai said to Abram, “ My wrong  be upon you! I gave my maid into your embrace, and when she saw that she had conceived I became despised in her eyes the Lord judge between me and you. So Abram said to Sarai,” indeed your maid is in your hands; do unto her as you please.” And when Sarai dealt harshly with herm she fled her presence. Genesis 16:4-6 

Lack of Faith brought discontent in the family of Abram mutual jealousies now disturbed the home that was once happy. Remember all this was because Abram asked for  a son, this was his humble request that he presented to the Lord.

Practical application/Lessons learned:

Just like Abram, talk to God as a friend and make your petitions known.

God requires us to have faith in Him that in due season, He will grant fulfill his promise. 

Testing of our faith produces patience (James 1:3-4). Patience equals to time. Therefore our faith is strengthened over time as we trust in the Lord. Abram was promised his son but his faith was weak and had to be strengthened over time.

Justification of sin is evidence of Lack of Faith

Lastly lack of faith gives birth to deadly consequences. Lack of faith >sin>Consequence.

Leave a comment